Little Falls NJ Harassment Defense Attorney
Criminal Defense Lawyer in Passaic County, New Jersey
Criiminal defense attorney Alissa D. Hascup defends clients throughout New Jersey, including Paterson, Clifton, Wayne, Passaic, and West Milford who have been charged with violent crimes such as harassment, terroristic threats, aggravated assault, and simple assault.
She has successfully represented countless clients in New Jersey, in Superior Court (indictable/felony level offenses) and Municipal Court (disorderly persons/misdemeanor level offenses). She is also a former domestic violence prosecutor and special deputy attorney general. During the course of her career with the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office, she handled cases ranging from Homicide (murder) and aggravated assault to robbery and weapons offenses. She has handled a number of cases in which the defense of insanity was raised at the time of trial. Now she is fighting for you.
If you or a loved one has been charged with harassment as a result of a criminal or domestic violence incident, there could be lasting consequences. Ms. Hascup is a battle-tested criminal defense lawyer who will attack the criminal charges against you and put you in a position to achieve the best possible result. Contact her office anytime for an initial consultation, which is always provided free of charge.
Harassment in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4
Harassment is codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:33-4, which provides:
A person commits a petty disorderly persons offense if, with purpose to harass another, he:
- Makes, or causes to be made, a communication or communications anonymously or at extremely inconvenient hours, or in offensively coarse language, or any other manner likely to cause annoyance or alarm;
- Subjects another to striking, kicking, shoving, or other offensive touching, or threatens to do so; or
- Engages in any other course of alarming conduct or of repeatedly committed acts with the purpose to alarm or seriously annoy such other person.
A person commits a crime of the fourth degree if, in committing an offense under this section, he was serving a term of imprisonment or was on parole or probation as the result of a conviction of any indictable offense under the laws of this State, any other State, or the United States.
A crime of the fourth degree is punishable by a term of imprisonment of up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
A petty disorderly persons offense is punishable by a term of imprisonment of up to 3 months in the county jail.
Contact a Clifton NJ Harassment Defense Lawyer today
In the event that you have been charged with Harassment, you need a skilled and knowledgeable attorneys who can seek to avoid the imposition of a jail term by negotiating an alternate disposition on your behalf. For instance, if you are a first-time offender, Alissa D. Hascup can attempt to negotiate your entry into a diversionary program, such as the Pre-Trial Intervention ( PTI ) Program (which, if successfully completed, would result in a dismissal of the charges against you) OR a downgrade of your charges to a local ordinance violation (which would only require the payment of a fine and would not result in a conviction on your record).
The potential consequences of a Harassment conviction can be serious. Ms. Hascup can help. Call or email her office right away for a free consultation.