NJ Criminal Sexual Contact Defense Lawyer
Sex Crimes Defense Attorney With Offices in Totowa and Denville, New Jersey
Being charged with Criminal Sexual Contact can mean exposure to a term of imprisonment in New Jersey State Prison. A conviction can result in a number of collateral consequences, including mandatory Megan’s Law (sex offender) registration for a minimum of 15 years. Having an experienced criminal defense attorney can make all the difference.
Alissa D. Hascup represents clients throughout New Jersey who have been charged with sex crimes, including criminal sexual contact, aggravated sexual assault, and lewdness in Paterson, Wayne, Clifton, Little Falls, Totowa, Morristown, Denville, Dover, Hackensack, and Newark. Ms. Hascup has successfully defended thousands of cases in New Jersey’s Superior Courts (indictable/felony level offenses) and Municipal Courts (disorderly persons/misdemeanor level offenses). She is a former Assistant County Prosecutor, Special Deputy Attorney General, and Municipal Prosecutor who handled of number of sex crimes cases during the course of her prosecutorial career, including cases involving allegations of criminal sexual contact. Now she is fighting for you.
Ms. Hascup is a skilled, aggressive criminal defense attorney who is prepared to attack the State’s case and put you in a position to achieve the best possible outcome. Contact her office anytime for an initial consultation, which is always provided free of charge.
Criminal Sexual Contact in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3b
Criminal Sexual Contact is codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:14-3b, which provides:
An actor is guilty of criminal sexual contact if he commits an act of sexual contact with the victim under any of the following circumstances:
1. The actor uses physical force or coercion, but the victim does not sustain severe personal injury;
2. The victim is on probation or parole, or is detained in a hospital, prison or other institution and the actor has supervisory or disciplinary power over the victim by virtue of the actor s legal, professional or occupational status; or
3. The victim is at least 16 but less than 18 years old and:
a. The actor is related to the victim by blood or affinity to the third degree; or
b. The actor has supervisory or disciplinary power of any nature or in any capacity over the victim; or
c. The actor is a resource family parent, a guardian, or stands in loco parentis within the household.
4. The victim is at least 13 but less than 16 years old and the actor is at least four years older than the victim.
Understanding Criminal Sexual Contact in NJ
Criminal Sexual Contact is a crime of the Fourth Degree, punishable by up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison. Additionally, a Criminal Sexual Contact conviction also carries with it a Megan’s Law registration requirement if the victim was less than 16 years old at the time of the commission of the offense.
The definition of sexual contact includes intentional touching of the victim by the actor, intentional touching of the actor by the victim, and sexual contact by the actor with himself. In addition to the requisite contact, the definition requires that the action be committed for the specific purpose of degradation or humiliation of the victim or of sexual arousal or gratification of the actor. See State v. Lee, 417 N.J. Super. 516, 518 (App. Div. 2010).
Contact a Totowa NJ Criminal Sexual Contact Lawyer for Answers
The consequences of a conviction for criminal sexual contact can be serious. If you find yourself in a situation where you or a loved one have been charged with criminal sexual contact, don’t delay in hiring legal representation. Call Alissa D. Hascup today to discuss your case or fill out her online contact form to schedule a free, in-person consultation.