Passaic County NJ Manslaughter Defense Attorney
Criminal Defense Lawyer in Wayne, New Jersey
Alissa D. Hascup is a skilled criminal defense attorney who represents clients throughout Passaic County New Jersey, including Paterson, Wayne, and Clifton, who have been charged with serious violent offenses such as manslaughter, homicide, aggravated assault, and simple assault.
She has successfully handled thousands of cases in New Jersey, in both Superior Court (indictable/felony level offenses) and Municipal Court (disorderly persons/misdemeanor level offenses). In fact, Ms. Hascup is a former Morris County Assistant Prosecutor. During her time with the Morris County Prosecutor’s Office, she prosecuted a number of domestic violence cases ranging from homicide and burglary, to terroristic threats and contempt. Contact Alissa D. Hascup anytime for an initial consultation, which is always provided free of charge.
Manslaughter in New Jersey: N.J.S.A. 2C:11-4
Manslaughter is codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-4, which provides:
Criminal homicide constitutes aggravated manslaughter when:
- The actor recklessly causes death under certain circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to human life; or
- The actor causes the death of another person while fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer. (NOTE: The actor shall be strictly liable for a violation of this paragraph upon proof of a violation of the Eluding statute, N.J.S.A. 2C:29-2b, which resulted in the death of another person.)
Criminal homicide constitutes manslaughter when:
- It is committed recklessly; or
- A homicide which would otherwise be murder is committed in the heat of passion resulting from a reasonable provocation.
Penalties for Manslaughter in New Jersey
Aggravated Manslaughter is a crime of the first degree – the most serious under our Criminal Code. Normally, a crime of the first degree is punishable by a period of between 10 to 20 years in New Jersey State Prison. However, a person convicted of the crime of Aggravated Manslaughter under paragraph 1 is subject to a period of incarceration between 10 to 30 years, with 85% to be served under the No Early Release Act (“NERA”). A person convicted of the crime of Aggravated Manslaughter under paragraph 2 is subject to a period of incarceration between 10 and 20 years, with 85% to be served under NERA.
Manslaughter is a crime of the second degree, punishable by a period of between 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, with 85% to be served under NERA.
Contact a Clifton NJ Manslaughter Lawyer for a Free Consultation
If you find yourself in a situation where you have been charged with a domestic violence offense, including Manslaughter, it is important to contact a lawyer immediately. The consequences of a domestic violence conviction are permanent and severe. Alissa D. Hascup is a talented, experienced criminal defense lawyer who is ready to fight for you. Contact her now for a free consultation about your manslaughter charges.