Little Falls NJ DWI Defense Attorney: Understanding New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC)
DWI Defense Lawyer Serving Clients Passaic County, New Jersey
Alissa D. Hascup is a criminal defense attorney and accomplished trial lawyer with extensive experience representing clients charged with drunk driving and alcohol-related offenses such as first offense DWI, DWI in a school zone, and underage DWI throughout New Jersey, including in Little Falls, Woodland Park, North Haledon, and Wayne. Ms. Hascup is also a former NJ prosecutor who regularly handled DWI cases. As a result, she understands the nuances of DWI and DUI law in New Jersey and she knows how to fight DWI charges.
Contact the Law Office of Alissa Hascup, LLC today for a free consultation, and please continue reading this page for more information about DWI charges and the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center.
New Jersey’s Intoxicated Driver Resource Center – IDRC
If you are convicted of DWI in New Jersey, you may be required to participate in an alcohol education program at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC). A first-time DWI offender must spend at least 12 hours attending a program at the IDRC. This requirement can go as high as 48 hours, depending on the circumstances of your case. The IDRC program provides for alcohol and highway safety education courses
Additional Treatment: During this mandatory period of detention, you will be interviewed by drug and alcohol counselors. According to NJ law, the IDRC has authority to order treatment and additional aftercare that goes beyond the treatment required by the court in your case. If the IDRC determines that you need additional treatment, you will be referred to a mandatory additional 16-week treatment program. In fact, based upon their recommendation, you could be referred for additional treatment for a period lasting up to one (1) year.
Jail Time: A person who fails to comply with IDRC requirements can be subject to jail time. In other words, non-compliance of any kind can lead to the court imposing jail as a punishment.
Loss of Driver’s License: The IDRC keeps track of your compliance with the program. If you fail to comply with all of the program’s requirements, the IDRC will contact both the court and the DMV, which can result in your driver’s license being suspended indefinitely.
Fees: There is also a $100.00 IDRC program fee that is to be paid on the date of sentencing and a $150.00 IDRC attendance fee that is to be paid at a later date. These fees are in addition to any fees and fines related to your DWI case.
First, Second, and Third Offenses: A first-time DWI offender will spend 12 hours attending a program at the IDRC, typically completing two (2) different alcohol-awareness classes that last six (6) hours each. A second-time DWI offender must spend 48 hours attending the program. Most second offenders will be required to complete additional treatment in a follow-up program that can last up to four (4) months. A third-time DWI offender must spend 48 hours attending a program at the IDRC, in addition to serving a mandatory 180-day jail sentence.
Contact a Wayne NJ DUI Defense Attorney for a Free Consultation
The state of New Jersey uses the Alcotest 7110 breath-testing device to prosecute DWI cases. This device is manufactured by Draeger Safety. Ms. Hascup is able to utilize my experience and expertise to challenge the admissibility of the breath-test result in your case.
Call or email Alissa D. Hascup today so she can look over the details of your file and formulate a strategy to help you avoid serious DWI penalties.