According to authorities, a Garfield man was shot by two domestic violence victims that he attacked in his home. Police say that 42 year-old steven J. Lawson allegedly assaulted two people during the incident and was shot with his own gun by one of the victims who was allegedly acting in self-defense. Police charged Lawson with two counts of aggravated assault, child endangerment, and weapons offenses. He remained in stable condition at the Hackensack University Medical Center on Tuesday. Once he is released from the hospital, Lawson will be scheduled to appear in Central Judicial Processing Court in Hackensack. Click here to read more at www.dailyvoice.com.
The state of New Jersey handles aggravated assault charges very seriously and penalties can be severe. The penalties if convicted are as follows:
Aggravated assault under paragraph 1 or 6 is a crime of the second degree, punishable by a period of between 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, with 85% to be served under the No Early Release Act (NERA).
Aggravated assault under paragraph 8 is a crime of the second degree if the victim suffers significant or serious bodily injury; otherwise, it is a crime of the third degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 2, 7, 9, 10 or 11 is a crime of the third degree, punishable by a period of between 3 to 5 years in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 5 is a crime of the third degree if the victim suffers bodily injury; otherwise it is a crime of the fourth degree, punishable by a period of up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 3 or 4 is a crime of the fourth degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 12 or 13 is a crime of the third degree, but the presumption of non-imprisonment for a first offense of a crime of the third degree does not apply.
As to what constitutes bodily injury, significant bodily injury, and serious bodily injury, see the Related Definitions Subsection (codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-1).
If you or a loved one is charged with aggravated assault, you should contact a criminal defense attorney immediately. Former Morris County Prosecutor, Alissa D. Hascup is skilled and experienced at defending thousands of individuals charged with violent offenses in towns like Wayne, Clifton, and Paterson. She is committed to ensuring your rights are protected in court and that you get the best possible outcome for your case. Contact her office for a free consultation. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.