In Trenton on August 7th a 14 year was shot by the police after pointing a handgun at officers. What ensued from that point has led to Radazz Hearns being charged with aggravated assault on a police officer, possession of a handgun, and possession of a defaced firearm. “The juvenile was in possession of a .22-caliber handgun that he pointed at the pursuing police officers,” according to a statement from the Attorney General’s office. “Law enforcement witnesses and a civilian eyewitness who were at the scene reported that the juvenile had the gun in his hand as he ran and that one of the officers yelled ‘gun’ before they fired Attorney General s Office” A New Jersey State Trooper as well as a Mercer County Sheriff s Officer approached Radazz on a report that there were gun shots heard in the area. The .22 caliber hand gun was found on Saturday after a resident found it in the area where police originally shot him. The gun could not be found the day of the shooting because a firetruck had driven over the gun to provide lighting to the crime scene. “An emergency response truck that responded to the shooting to provide first-responder services drove over the gun on Calhoun Street and remained parked over the gun through the night while providing lighting for investigators Attorney General s Office” The attorney representing the sheriffs officers said that if one attempts to use deadly force against the police that it does not end well for the suspect. Robert Ebberup the state troopers attorney as well as Christopher Burgos the president of the state troopers union have both said that the “gratuitous, inflammatory and dangerous” criticism of the Attorney General’s investigation by public officials and comments made by the lawyer for Hearns’ family. If found guilty Radazz Hearns is facing serious charges.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1b which has aggravated assault codified under it, is a very severe crime. It is a crime of the of the 4th degree in this situation as the gun was pointed at the police officers. If found guilty one is looking at up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-5b. which is unlawful possession of a handgun is a crime of the 2nd degree. If found guilty a person is facing 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison. In addition, the matter will falls under the provisions of the “Graves Act,” which would require the imposition of a term of parole ineligibility. For instance, a first-time offender convicted of this offense is often sentenced to serve 5 years in New Jersey State Prison with a 42-month period of parole ineligibility.
Under N.J.S.A. 2C:39-3d which is possession of a defaced firearm. Any person who has a defaced firearm is guilty of a crime of the 4th degree. IF found guilty a person is looking at up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
More information can be found here