Teenager Charged with Aggravated Manslaughter for Fatal Prom Weekend Crash

A 17 year-old driver is being charged in a prom weekend car crash that killed his friend and injured 2 others.  According to authorities, the teenager (whose name was not immediately released because he is a juvenile) was driving a rental car which was rented for prom the night before. He and 3 others continued to use the rental car for their trip to the turtle back zoo on the day following prom night. The accident occurred on the way back from the zoo when the Mercedes-Bens sedan went off the road and flipped over in the woods in Fredon, New Jersey (Sussex County). The accident claimed the life of 17 year-old Alexis Faye, a newton High School student. Faye was pronounced dead at the scene, while 3 others suffered serious injuries. The teenager was charged with Aggravated Manslaughter and other offenses. Click here to read more at www.nj.com.

Criminal homicide constitutes aggravated manslaughter when: 1. The actor recklessly causes death under certain circumstances manifesting extreme indifference to human life; or 2. The actor causes the death of another person while fleeing or attempting to elude a law enforcement officer. (NOTE: The actor shall be strictly liable for a violation of this paragraph upon proof of a violation of the Eluding statute, N.J.S.A. 2C:29-2b, which resulted in the death of another person.) 

Aggravated manslaughter is a crime of the first degree– the most serious under our Criminal Code. Normally, a crime of the first degree is punishable by a period of between 10 to 20 years in New Jersey State Prison. However, a person convicted of the crime of aggravated manslaughter under paragraph 1 is subject to a period of incarceration between 10 to 30 years, with 85% to be served under the No Early Release Act (“NERA”). A person convicted of the crime of Aggravated Manslaughter under paragraph 2 is subject to a period of incarceration between 10 and 20 years, with 85% to be served under NERA.

*Because the suspect in this case is a juvenile, he must first be charged as a juvenile, however his case may be waived up to be handled in the criminal court as an adult. Sentencing is different for juveniles. Click here to read more about juveniles charged with manslaughter. 

If you or a loved one is charged with aggravated manslaughter, you MUST contact a criminal defense attorney immediately, especially given the potential prison sentence at hand. Former Morris County Prosecutor, Alissa D. Hascup is skilled and experienced at representing individuals charged with the entire range of violent crimes and she is committed to ensuring your rights are protected in court. Contact her office today for a free consultation about your case. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.