According to authorities, a 29 year-old Rutherford man was charged with the stabbing-death of his brother. Police allege that Uriel Adames-Gomez called 911 at around 7:50pm on Tuesday and said he had just “stabbed and killed his brother.” When police arrived at Adames-Gomez’ home, he was standing in the driveway covered in blood waving them down. When police entered the apartment, they allegedly found the victim laying on the kitchen floor face up in a pool of blood with stab wounds on the chest, arms, neck and back. Adames-Gomez’ allegedly used a kitchen style butcher knife. Investigators obtained a search warrant for the apartment and seized cellphones, computers, and other electronic devices. Adames-Gomez allegedly has a history of mental illness which includes post-traumatic stress disorder and depression. He was charged with first degree murder and weapons offenses. Click here to read more at www.nj.com.
Murder is a crime of the first degree—the most serious under our criminal code. Murder is codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-3, which provides:
Criminal homicide constitutes murder when:
- The actor purposely causes death or serious bodily injury resulting in death; or
- The actor knowingly causes death or serious bodily injury resulting in death; or
- It is committed when the actor, acting either alone or with one or more other persons, is engaged in the commission of, or an attempt to commit, or flight after committing or attempting to commit robbery, sexual assault, arson, burglary, kidnapping, carjacking, criminal escape or terrorism, and in the course of such crime or of immediate flight therefrom, any person causes the death of a person other than one of the participants;
EXCEPTIONS: in any prosecution under this subsection, in which the defendant was not the only participant in the underlying crime, it is an affirmative defense that the defendant:
- Did not commit the homicidal act or in any way solicit, request, command, importune, cause or aid the commission thereof; and
- Was not armed with a deadly weapon, or any instrument, article or substance readily capable of causing death or serious physical injury and or a sort not ordinarily carried in public places by law-abiding persons; and
- Had no reasonable ground to believe that any other participant was armed with such a weapon, instrument, article or substance; and
- Had no reasonable ground to believe that any other participant intended to engage in conduct likely to result in death or serious physical injury.
Penalties for Murder in New Jersey
Normally, a crime of the first degree is punishable by a period of between 10 to 20 years in New Jersey State Prison. However, a person convicted of the crime of Murder is subject to a sentence of 30 years to life, with a minimum of 30 years that must be served before the person is eligible for parole. Notably, there are a number of circumstances that will subject a person to a sentence of life without parole including:
- If the victim was a law enforcement officer and was murdered while performing his official duties or was murdered because of his status as a law enforcement officer.
- If the victim was less than 14 years old and the act was committed in the course of the commission, whether alone or with one or more persons, of an act of Sexual Assault or Criminal Sexual Contact.
There are also certain circumstances that mandate serving the sentence in a maximum security prison.
If you or a loved one is charged with murder, your freedom is at stake. You should contact a criminal defense attorney immediately. Former Morris County Prosecutor, Alissa D. Hascup has handled cases ranging from Murder to sexual assault to robbery. Now she is fighting for YOU. She is skilled and experienced at defending countless individuals charged with violent crimes and she is committed to ensuring your rights are protected in court. Contact her office for a free consultation about your case. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.