According to authorities in Paterson, a woman was arrested after allegedly attacking a healthcare worker at a Covid-19 testing site. Police allege that Ayxa Roldan of Paterson was waiting in line on Friday to be tested for Covid-19 at the Board of Health mobile testing site. She had a blanket draped over her, so a nurse at the site asked her if she was sick because the worker prioritize sick patients, and she’d be able to be tested first.
Roldan allegedly angrily replied “no,” and an argument ensued. Once the nurse turned away, 19 year old Roldan allegedly struck the nurse in the back of her head with an open hand. Roldan was held at the site until police arrived. Attacking a healthcare worker in New Jersey is the same, under the statute, as attacking a police officer. Therefore, Roldan was charged with aggravated assault. Click here to read more at www.patersontimes.com.
The state of New Jersey takes Aggravated assault cases very seriously and the penalties can be severe. If convicted you could face the following sentence:
Aggravated assault under paragraph 1 or 6 is a crime of the second degree, punishable by a period of between 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, with 85% to be served under the No Early Release Act (NERA).
Aggravated assault under paragraph 8 is a crime of the second degree if the victim suffers significant or serious bodily injury; otherwise, it is a crime of the third degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 2, 7, 9, 10 or 11 is a crime of the third degree, punishable by a period of between 3 to 5 years in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 5 is a crime of the third degree if the victim suffers bodily injury; otherwise it is a crime of the fourth degree, punishable by a period of up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 3 or 4 is a crime of the fourth degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 12 or 13 is a crime of the third degree, but the presumption of non-imprisonment for a first offense of a crime of the third degree does not apply.
As to what constitutes bodily injury, significant bodily injury, and serious bodily injury, see the Related Definitions Subsection (codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-1).
If you or a loved one is charged with aggravated assault, you should contact a criminal defense attorney immediately. Former Morris County Prosecutor, Alissa D. Hascup is skilled and experienced at defending countless individuals charged with aggravated assault in towns like Paterson, Wayne, and Clifton. She is committed to ensuring your rights are protected in court and that you receive the best possible outcome for your case. Contact her office for a free consultation. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.