In 2016, an off duty Union County police officer slammed into a car on Route 1 in Woodbridge. According to authorities, Mark Grzeda was driving south on Route 1 in Woodbridge on April 1, 2016 at around 9:30pm when he allegedly rear-ended a Honda CRV in his Honda Accord. The impact allegedly caused the CRV to roll over which caused a minor knee injury to the driver. The Woodbridge police officer who responded to the scene observed that Grzeda’s breath smelled of alcohol, he was swaying, and his eyes were bloodshot. Grzeda allegedly told police that he was coming from Buffalo Wild Wings in Linden and while he was there, he drank two (2) beers and half of a bottle of Jack Daniels.
According to police, Grzeda failed field sobriety tests, noting a Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of .18% which is more than double the legal limit (.08%). Grzeda was arrested and was charged with Assault by Auto and DWI. He was subsequently suspended from his job without pay following his indictment on September 5, 2017. He eventually plead guilty to DWI in Middlesex County Superior Court before Judge Pedro Jiminez this past December, and was entered into the Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI) Program. He was also sentenced to a three (3) month license suspension and ordered to pay more than $600 in fines. Click here to read more at www.nj.com.
The penalties for a DUI /DWI in New Jersey can be severe. A first offense DUI can result in a period of incarceration of one (1) month in county jail, loss of your driver s license for between seven (7) months and one (1) year, a requirement to participate in an alcohol education program at the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), and a fine of up to $500. A conviction for a second DUI offense will subject to you to even worse penalties, including up to three (3) months in jail and mandatory suspension of your driver s license for two (2) years. If you are also charged with a DUI/DWI in a school zone, the court can impose enhanced penalties. In particular, the driver’s license suspension period can be doubled.
Grzeda was also charged with a crime (Assault by Auto While DWI) because other individuals were injured during the accident. Depending on the severity of the injuries sustained, he could face separate penalties on that charge, including but not limited to a term of incarceration.
If you find yourself in the situation that you are charged with DUI/DWI it is essential that you have a lawyer at your side who will fight to protect your rights in Court. Former Morris County Prosecutor, Alissa D. Hascup is skilled and and experienced at handling DWI cases, and has successfully represented those charged all over New Jersey including towns like, Wayne, Paterson, and Clifton. Contact her office for a free consultation about your case. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.