According to authorities, a man in Newark was allegedly driving while intoxicated with a 2 year-old in the car. On Saturday, around midnight, 41 year-old Rasudi Creighton allegedly crashed into a parked BMW. No one was reported injured from the crash, however the child was taken to the hospital for an evaluation. Creighton was charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), and was given summonses for reckless driving and careless driving with the likeliness of endangering another person, along with several other summonses. Click here to read more at www.nj.com.
The penalties for DWI can be severe. In New Jersey, the threshold for DWI is 0.08% blood alcohol content. Even if you refuse to submit to a Breathalyzer test, you can still be charged and convicted. Worst of all, New Jersey prosecutors often try to push DWI cases through the system quickly. If you are convicted of DWI, the penalties for a first offense include: a sentence of up to 30 days in jail, suspension of your driver’s license for between 3 months and 1 year. You will also have to participate in the Intoxicated Driver Resource Center (IDRC), and have to install an ignition interlock device which requires a breath test sample before opening the vehicle. A DWI conviction can also result in sizable fines up to a total of $800. The penalties for a second and third DWI conviction increase in severity.
If you or a family member is charged with Driving While Intoxicated (DWI), it is important to contact an attorney immediately, especially given the severe penalties associated with a DWI conviction. Criminal Defense Lawyer, Alissa D. Hascup has successfully represented thousands of individuals charged with DWI throughout the state of New Jersey in towns like Wayne, Clifton and Totowa. She is committed to ensuring your rights are protected in court and you receive the best possible outcome for your case. Contact her office for a free consultation about your case. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.