According to authorities, a Hoboken man was charged with stabbing a man on Saturday morning after an argument escalated. Police say that Officers Domenick Allegretta and Tyler Soto responded to the area of 201 Bloomfield Street at 7:23am and found a man with a puncture wound on his left forearm as well as a laceration on his right wrist. The alleged victim told police that he was walking with 31 year-old Christopher Vasquez when they began arguing to the point that Vasquez allegedly pulled out a knife and assaulted the victim.
The victim was transported to Hoboken University Medical Center for treatment. Vasquez was arrested by Detectives Adam Colon and Michael Losurdo. He was charged with aggravated assault, possession of a weapon, endandering an injured victim and tampering with physical evidence. He was taken to the Hudson County Jail in Kearny. Click here to read more at www.nj.com.
The state of New Jersey takes aggravated assault charges very seriously, and penalties can be severe.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 1 or 6 is a crime of the second degree, punishable by a period of between 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, with 85% to be served under the No Early Release Act (NERA).
Aggravated assault under paragraph 8 is a crime of the second degree if the victim suffers significant or serious bodily injury; otherwise, it is a crime of the third degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 2, 7, 9, 10 or 11 is a crime of the third degree, punishable by a period of between 3 to 5 years in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 5 is a crime of the third degree if the victim suffers bodily injury; otherwise it is a crime of the fourth degree, punishable by a period of up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 3 or 4 is a crime of the fourth degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 12 or 13 is a crime of the third degree, but the presumption of non-imprisonment for a first offense of a crime of the third degree does not apply.
As to what constitutes bodily injury, significant bodily injury, and serious bodily injury, see the Related Definitions Subsection (codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-1).
If you find yourself or a loved one in the situation that you are charged with aggravated assault, you should contact a criminal defense attorney immediately, especially given the potential jail sentence if convicted. Former Morris County Prosecutor, Alissa D. Hascup is skilled and experienced at representing countless individuals charged with aggravated assault in towns like Paterson, Clifton, and Wayne. Contact her office for a free consultation about your case. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.