According to authorities, a couple was arrested on Saturday for allegedly attacking a New Jersey State Police Trooper. Police allege that the trooper pulled over a car on Rt. 80 around 9:50am when the passengers, 22 year-old Alecia S. Jones and 22 year-old Tyson S. Stamper of Elizabeth, attacked the officer. The two suspects were both arrested and charged with two counts of aggravated assault on a law enforcement officer, as well as resisting arrest, and possession of marijuana. Stamper had outstanding warrants out of Elizabeth and Clark. The couple remains held in the Bergen County Jail. Click here to read more at www.dailyvoice.com.
Aggravated Assault as it applies to this case is codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:12-1b(5), which provides: A person is guilty of aggravated assault if he commits simple assault on any law enforcement officer. Aggravated assault under paragraph 5 is a crime of the third degree. The penalties for aggravated assault can be severe.
The aggravated assault statute is complicated and contains a variety of legal nuances. The penalties are as follows:
Aggravated assault under paragraph 1 is a crime of the second degree, punishable by a period of between 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, with 85% to be served under the No Early Release Act (NERA).
Aggravated assault under paragraph 6 is a crime of the second degree, punishable by a period of between 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 8 is a crime of the second degree if the victim suffers significant or serious bodily injury; otherwise, it is a crime of the third degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraphs 2, 7, 9, 10, and 11 is a crime of the third degree, punishable by a period of between 3 to 5 years in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 5 is a crime of the third degree if the victim suffers bodily injury; otherwise it is a crime of the fourth degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraphs 3 and 4 is a crime of the fourth degree, punishable by a period of up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
As to what constitutes bodily injury, significant bodily injury, and serious bodily injury, see the Related Definitions Subsection (codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-1).
If you find yourself in the situation that you are charged with aggravated assault, you should contact an experienced criminal defense lawyer immediately, especially given the potential jail sentence. Former Morris County Prosecutor, Alissa D. Hascup is skilled and experienced at defending individuals charged with aggravated assault. She is committed to ensuring your rights are protected in court and you get the best possible outcome for your case. Contact her office for a free consultation about your case. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.