According to authorities, a Bayonne man has been charged with aggravated assault, possession of a weapon for unlawful purpose and unlawful possession of a weapon. Police say that on Monday morning, 53 year-old Joseph Matusaitis allegedly slashed another man’s face with a kitchen knife. When police arrived, they found Matusaitis sitting on a bench outside the home and victim was inside the home with facial lacerations. The victim told police Matusaitis slashed him, and Matusaitis was then arrested. The 48 year-old victim was treated at the Bayonne Medical Center. Click here to read more at www.nj.com.
The state of New Jersey handles aggravated assault cases seriously and penalties can be severe.
Penalties for Aggravated Assault in New Jersey are as follows:
Aggravated assault under paragraph 1 or 6 is a crime of the second degree, punishable by a period of between 5 to 10 years in New Jersey State Prison, with 85% to be served under the No Early Release Act (NERA).
Aggravated assault under paragraph 8 is a crime of the second degree if the victim suffers significant or serious bodily injury; otherwise, it is a crime of the third degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 2, 7, 9, 10 or 11 is a crime of the third degree, punishable by a period of between 3 to 5 years in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 5 is a crime of the third degree if the victim suffers bodily injury; otherwise it is a crime of the fourth degree, punishable by a period of up to 18 months in New Jersey State Prison.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 3 or 4 is a crime of the fourth degree.
Aggravated assault under paragraph 12 or 13 is a crime of the third degree, but the presumption of non-imprisonment for a first offense of a crime of the third degree does not apply.
As to what constitutes bodily injury, significant bodily injury, and serious bodily injury, see the Related Definitions Subsection (codified under N.J.S.A. 2C:11-1).
If your or a loved one is charged with aggravated assault, you should contact a criminal defense attorney immediately. Alissa D. Hascup is skilled and aggressive when it comes to defending individuals charged with aggravated assault. She has represented countless individuals charged with violent offenses all throughout New Jersey in towns like Paterson, Clifton, and Wayne. Contact her office for a free consultation about your case. She is available 24/7 at 862-257-1200.